blogging is hard; dieting is harder

This must be why I stopped keeping a journal. Respect to all the bloggers out there who have day jobs. It’s pretty difficult to put significant thought into anything else after work. Special kudos to my friend who’s blogging everyday for 1000 days. You’re crazy. And you’re special.

Day 8, June 8

DSC00808

Breakfast: Skirt steak, 2 fried eggs, 1 “grilled” tomato (really just pan seared), half avocado

Lunch: Stuffed pepper over arugula, half avocado and pecans

Dinner: Chicken fajitas and guacamole (half avocado), wrapped in Boston lettuce. Because I have a special relationship with Boston lettuce.

DSC00810

Impressions: I woke up early with lots of energy and did some spring cleaning in my kitchen. By afternoon I was kinda tired but not enough for a nap so I basically vegged for most of the day before I made dinner. I felt like I was running out of exciting food ideas. The timeline said I should have some stomach area discomfort, but I don’t think I experienced anything in particular. Or maybe I just didn’t notice? Or maybe it’s coming later? I don’t know. But that all leads into…

 

Day 9, June 9

Breakfast: Chicken fajitas, guacamole and 2 boiled eggs over spring mix and tomatoes

Lunch: Boring chicken salad, cashews for dessert

Snack: Cashew/almond mix, heavier on the cashews

Pre Workout Meal: Pear

Dinner: Same as last night, but with a whole avocado

Impressions: No time for a post workout meal today. Plus I’m definitely running out of interesting food ideas. Chicken 3 times in one day! I did wake up super early, though, 5:25 – a full half hour before my first alarm was supposed to go off. What?! I fought it and went back to sleep as quickly as possible. That has NEVER happened. This is supposed to be good, but I don’t know what I’m supposed to do when I get up at 5:30. I didn’t feel tired at work, and I had a great workout afterwards.

 

Day 10, June 10 (today!)

Breakfast: Skirt steak, 2 scrambled eggs, lightly cooked mixed greens (spinach, kale, chard). For whatever reason I expected the veggies to taste similar to bok choy. But they really just tasted like… well… plants. I have to do better on my seasoning

Lunch: Mishmash salad – spring mix, spinach, romaine, broccoli, carrots, cantaloupe, banana. Cashews for dessert

Snack: Cashew/Almond mix (I should start taking carrots, or something)

Dinner: Fajitas, half avocado guacamole

Impressions: I almost almost ate a piece of fried chicken at lunch. I convinced myself that I could take off the breading and make it Whole30 compatible, that the canola oil it was probably fried in is technically allowed, that it was CHICKEN, for Pete’s sake. Then I remembered that the timeline said you’re most likely to quit on day 10 and I had to make an extremely difficult decision about the kind of statistic I want to be. I’m bored with the food I’m eating now, though. It’s difficult to wake up early to cook a real breakfast, and the salad bar at work doesn’t change so my lunch lacks creativity and flavor. I feel the love at dinner, though 😀

Update: Just found a website dedicated to Whole30/Paleo meal ideas. Also, my friend pointed me to a website with a recipe for cauliflower fried rice. Might try that next week. Also been surfing for ideas to pair with lamb burgers for the rest of the week. I know, I know, meat, meat, meat. Next week I’ll have more variety, I promise. I feel awesome about food again. Also, I was just really inspired and really uninspired by themisfit_22’s Instagram page. She has lost so much weight in the past year! Definitely over 100 pounds, and she started off weighing more than me. It occurs to me that I often sabotage myself because I’m scared to fail. I have to start thinking about my post-Whole30 life. Will I never drink wine again? No. (NO!) But something’s got to give. This is a plan that really works for me. Meanwhile, I have a biometric screening tomorrow. Sometimes I’d rather not know.

Leave a Reply

