a taste of home

Day 21, June 21

Image

Breakfast/pre workout meal: 1 cup homemade cereal, half banana, 2 strawberries, almond milk. (Cereal: hazelnuts, pecans, dried apples, dried coconut)

Post workout meal: half cup cereal, half banana, almond milk

Lunch: Makeshift plantain amala with efo riro. I really felt like amala and I had no unripe plantain, so I mashed my semi-ripe plantain. While it technically came together, It was too sweet, and not starchy enough. Not to be tried again.

Dinner: Real plantain amala with efo riro. Oh delish!

Image

Impressions: Woke up and made some almond milk. It took a little getting used to, being unsweetened and all, but I’m in love with it now. I read a lot of recipes for grainless cereal but all of them called for seeds – hemp seeds or sunflower seeds or chia seeds or all three – and I’m just not into that. I made this to mimic my favorite childhood cereal, and I think I did a darned good job. Self control has been difficult.

I don’t know if my stomach is smaller but I find that I now struggle to finish meals I could easily have finished before, even with salads during the week. Weird. Anyway, apparently the gym got flooded and since the guy just rents the place, he wants to move it to a new place. Today we worked out in the park, which was actually very nice. I think I did a better job than I usually do, plus it was just me and another lady and we both really got some personalized support from the trainer. I felt really good. After my workout I went grocery shopping to make some more efo riro and buy some more unripe plantains. Here’s the plantain amala recipe (no drying the plantain!), and here’s my go-to efo riro recipe. I didn’t have half the stuff, and of course I had to leave out the locust beans. Plus I cooked it in coconut oil, and only seasoned with salt. The crayfish really saved the day, I tell you. Anything tastes authentic once there’s crayfish in it.

Leave a Reply

