blame it on the run

Day 19, June 19

Breakfast: Sausage and pepper frittata with spinach/kale/chard mix.

Lunch: Salad from cafeteria with lots of cashews. Too many cashews.

Dinner: Frittata from breakfast.

Impressions: I got up really early. Legs still hurt, so I decided to head to work early instead of going to the gym. It was still difficult to walk, but more from my calves and shin than from my feet. I stopped by the grocery store after work because I had nothing to eat at home. I had planned to make some efo riro but I needed some chicken gizzards. I ended up having another idea so I was there for a bit. When I got home, I realized that I didn’t have a key ingredient for the efo riro, so I put the meat on to cook, put a serving of the frittata in the oven, and cleaned my shrimp. I looked at the time (8:45), thought I had a few minutes to rest before everything was ready. Next thing I knew, I was waking up at it was 9:50. Meat was more than cooked, much-needed stock was all dried up, and it was starting to burn. Frittata was charred on top, but not inedible. I threw some shrimp into the pot with gizzards, hoping some of its juices will act as a “stock”, squaffed down the edible part of the frittata, then went back to bed. I still blame it on the run.

Leave a Reply

