Aside

the run

Day 17, June 17

Pre workout meal: 6 large strawberries. Something is better than nothing.

Post workout meal: Half avocado, 15 cashews.

Breakfast: Same frittata, but that was the last serving.

Lunch: Large steak and grilled veggie salad. I didn’t know I could enjoy a warm salad.

Dinner: You already know: cauliflower fried rice. Last serving as well đŸ˜¦

Impressions: I can’t believe I haven’t posted in almost a week! Like the title suggests, I blame it on the run. But let’s run through my day before we get to that.

I got up at 4:55 to get to the gym at 5:30. Does this make me a totally changed person? I didn’t think I could do it. The guy showed up and it was an OK workout. I couldn’t do all the burpees. Burpees are the devil, period. I feel like a got a full body workout though, except maybe abs.

The trainer says to me, “So am I seeing you tomorrow?”

I say, “No, maybe Thursday morning, because I’m going running tonight.”

He says, “OK, but come tomorrow. 5:30.”

I say, “Okay then.”

I mean… who can argue with that? This is what I need. Someone just telling me to show up, not giving me all sorts of options. And there’s a certain power in making an appointment that just makes you go. He brought up the shakes again, though. Now I’m going to tell him I’ve bought a shake so he can stop asking. I suppose I could have just told him I don’t do shakes, but I pick my battles :/

I definitely ate too much at lunch. Although I was already tired from waking up early, I had to have some caffeine after lunch, so I got some unsweetened iced tea (Pure Leaf). Fortunately, I enjoyed unsweetened iced tea prior to this exercise. Is there such a thing as too much salad?

The Run: We ran-walked (with the occasional jog) 3 miles on the streets outside of the office. I have immensely flat feet, so I knew they were going to betray me before we had gone far, but I thought I could deal with the pain later, only stopping when absolutely necessary. We sprinted and power-walked to our 1.5 mile mark; I was a little slower with my walking to give my feet a break, but heart rate was up. Coming back was a different story. We sprinted up the hills and power walked/walked the rest of the way. Because I was dying from my feet as well as from my need for air. My heart rate was through the roof. My buddy was totally supportive, but I just knew I was slowing her down more than she would have liked. Anyway we got back and stretched, and I felt OK. I was on my feet for a few minutes, chatting with a colleague, then I sat down for 5 minutes. When I got up, the pain in my feet was ridiculous. I limped to my car and took off my shoes. Feet were throbbing at the arch and driving home was a chore. By the time I got home, my arches were swollen and painful to the touch. I tried to massage my soles with a lacrosse ball but there was no relief. The pain was mad. The outer sides of my feet were painful too, I suppose because I had stared landing funny during the run to make up for the pain in the arches. I stretched some more at home, had dinner, and went to bed. This was another ordeal. Every time my feet touched each other, I woke up from the pain. This lasted until about 4am, so I sent the trainer a text message and I told him I wasn’t coming in. Finally at about 5, I got a full hour and a half of sleep.

Leave a Reply

