the rabbit and the finish line

Day 30, June 30

Image

Breakfast: 2 scotch eggs, 1 banana, 8 strawberries, half avocado

Lunch: Boring cafeteria salad

Dinner: Roasted rabbit with asparagus, brussel sprouts and carrots.

Impressions: Day 30! I did it, I did it!!! I feel like doing a little jig. Today was surprisingly more difficult than usual. I had to remind myself several times that today is not Day 31. In other news, I made the worst scotch eggs ever. I used the same recipe I used for the meatballs last night, and it was quite ugh. Basically over seasoned for scotch eggs, but fine for meatballs.

Alright, the rabbit: It doesn’t look much different from chicken, but it tasted subtly different. It has a delicate flavor. You might miss it if you’re not looking for it. I cooked it a little drier than I’d have liked because I forgot to set my gas oven 25 degrees lower than the recipe called for. All the same, it wasn’t dry dry, probably because I spent a lot of time basting it. It was quite tasty, really. Here’s my step-by-step(ish).

I layered the veggies in the roasting pan, drizzled a little under 1/8 cup of melted clarified butter over it, sprinkled with salt and pepper, gave it all a good shake, then laid the onion rings over it.

Image

Then I rubbed clarified butter all over the rabbits, sprinkled with salt, pepper, thyme, dried parsley (because I stupidly used all my fresh parsley in my meatball/scotch egg mixture). I noticed they had a tiny little cavity so I stuffed 1 large smashed garlic and a few sage leaves in each one, and 1/6 of a lemon in 1 of them, just as a tester. I laid the rabbits in the pan and sprinkled some more sage and onions over them because I had just noticed that sage smells amazing, and I needed to use the leftover half onion, and I figured neither would hurt the flavor of the rabbits.

Image

I loosely covered the pan with foil and threw the lot of it in a 325 degree fahrenheit oven for an hour and a half (basting every 15 minutes or so), turning the temp up to 450 for the last 15 minutes to give it a nice gold-brown tone. That reddish-looking part sticking out is the neck (not the butt). I didn’t bother to cut it off. The asparagus is obviously a quite overcooked, but the other veggies surprisingly held their own.

Image

That’s it! Not very difficult. I think some dry white wine would have cooked nicely with this, as well as some mushrooms. I have a good mind to make some soup too, but I’ll probably be too lazy. Yay! Whole 30 done!!! I hope you guys will continue to follow me on my weight loss/healthy lifestyle journey. Other than having a semi-stalker trainer, knowing that there are people who read this keeps me accountable.

Image

Leave a Reply

